Pixalo Photography Community

Go Back   Pixalo Photography Community > Photography Forums > Cameras, Lenses and Accessories

Cameras, Lenses and Accessories: Discuss D300 review posted!...I've just spent a little too long writing the D300 review. 1321 words, and I barely scratched the surface, but ...
Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-03-2008, 22:49   #1 (permalink)
Loves the place
 
JMitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin
Posts: 4,945
JMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of light
JMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of light

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
D300 review posted!

I've just spent a little too long writing the D300 review. 1321 words, and I barely scratched the surface, but I hope it's helpful, to those who are thinking about buying it, and those who just want to know more about it. I tried to cover the main everyday features in greater depth, but with a view to them being used practically, not by pixel peeping, Canon loving reviewers.

It can be found here, and I wouldn't mind if someone took the time to review the review, as it were, and comment on my writing style and clarity of ideas, because I'd find it very helpful.

Thanks


Jack

Last edited by JMitchell; 14-03-2008 at 23:02.
JMitchell is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2008, 23:57   #2 (permalink)
Growing roots
 
Charlotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Romsey, Hampshire
Posts: 8,392
Charlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of light
Charlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of light

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Re: D300 review posted!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMitchell View Post
It can be found here, and I wouldn't mind if someone took the time to review the review, as it were, and comment on my writing style and clarity of ideas, because I'd find it very helpful.
I've just seen how long it is 100 an hour ok with you? Off to read it now
Charlotte is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:03   #3 (permalink)
Growing roots
 
Charlotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Romsey, Hampshire
Posts: 8,392
Charlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of light
Charlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of lightCharlotte is a glorious beacon of light

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Re: D300 review posted!

Jack, as requested :

Lose the 1st para, it doesn't even mention the D300 (i.e. it's waffle)
2nd para, good. Needs an extra Return at the end (to separate it from the 3rd para.)
3rd para, useful info.
4th para, I had to read several times before I understood what you were saying.
5th para, very useful.
6th para (The settings...), good, except are you sure that everyone who reads your review will know who 'Ken' is? Best to give references in full if you're going to use them at all.
7th para (The other...), very good.
8th para (The autofocus...), useful info.
9th para (Active D-Lighting...), good.
10th para (The availability..), good.
11th para (The colour...), useful.
12th para (I don't really...), I'd leave out the 2nd sentence, since you are writing the review as an amateur, not as a pro.

Overall, very good Jack. A bit of waffle, but not too bad. You included a lot of useful information, some of which I did not already know, so I do feel that your review was helpful to read, even if it was very long

I charge extra for spelling + grammar corrections
__________________
What you do todayis important because you exchanged a day of your life for it

You only ever get one chance to make a good first impression

Work Smarter, Not Harder
Charlotte is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 01:07   #4 (permalink)
Loves the place
 
JMitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin
Posts: 4,945
JMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of light
JMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of lightJMitchell is a glorious beacon of light

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Re: D300 review posted!

Thanks for the info. I know it's a bit waffly, I wanted a little intro before the review proper, but I can see what you mean [so I've gotten rid of it ]. The second para doesn't however need an extra return as it's part of that 'section' so to speak. I tend to lay stuff out like that, and I'm not aware it's malpractice. Not certain though.
The Ken reference was deliberately ambiguous, so as not to 'link to a competitor site'. Was gonna find out if I could put his whole name in tomorrow.
As per the pro thing, I agree, but I also think I'm right

I wont be needing you to charge extra. I don't tend to make spelling mistakes, and I am a grammar stickler, so if there are any 'mistakes' they might well be down to personal preference of usage


Thanks again,


Jack

Last edited by JMitchell; 15-03-2008 at 01:18.
JMitchell is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2008, 04:55   #5 (permalink)
Pixalo Crew
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18,309
Dave is just really nice
Dave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really niceDave is just really nice

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Re: D300 review posted!

Jack, thanks for taking time to add your review ... much appreciated

Charlotte, thanks for reviewing the review
Dave is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just posted! Nikon D300 review Pixalo Cameras, Lenses and Accessories 0 12-03-2008 17:40
Just Posted! Nikon P50 Review Pixalo Cameras, Lenses and Accessories 0 13-02-2008 14:50
Nikon D300 Review by Pixalo Member Dave Cameras, Lenses and Accessories 0 14-12-2007 14:35
Just posted! Panasonic TZ1 Review Pixalo Cameras, Lenses and Accessories 0 05-08-2006 09:11


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:26.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0
Copyright 2006 - 2017 Pixalo.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197