![]() |
|
|||||||
| Classified Adverts Discuss Canon 1Ds Mk2...A little too good to be true maybe ? Check out what comes with this too. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...42766&rd=1... |
|
Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.
|
|
|
![]() |
The thread "Canon 1Ds Mk2" has not received any replies for 18 months. It has been automatically closed as a result. Please start a new thread on the topic if the information in this thread is not sufficient. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 381
![]() |
Canon 1Ds Mk2
A little too good to be true maybe ?
Check out what comes with this too. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...42766&rd=1 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 381
![]() |
Actually I just read this on another ebay entry:
THIS IS A WARNING to all prospective Canon 1DS & Canon 1D buyers. I am sick & tired of seeing so many Scams for this camera that I felt it my duty to warn e-bay bidders and stop innocent buyers getting ripped off. NEVER NEVER even think of bidding for a Camera that is entered in a Private ID Listing & More important NEVER EVER try and bid for a Listing that States "APPROVED BIDDERS ONLY" These listings are 100% definite scams. Ask yourself - "Why would an honest Seller hide behind a Private ID Auction and more so, why would an Honest Seller insist on “Approved Bidders Only" ? This is what happens when you bid on a Private ID Auction and an “Approved Bidders Only”Auction..... First of all it is impossible to see who the other bidders are so there is no way that they can be warned (The seller protects himself here) and with Approved Bidders only (The worst kind!), It is impossible to get a bid in, but when you ask permission to bid, you get no immediate response, but after the Auction has ended you will definitely hear from the Scammer offering you the Camera at a fraction of the price and will ask you for the money up-front, he will never give you the chance to see the camera first or collect it from him until he has your money and then it is too late.... He will fool you into suggesting a 100% secure way of sending money via a friends name through Western Union & then pretend that he won't have access to collect it , but as soon as you send him the tracking number, he can collect it from any Western Union Office in the world, he will try and convince you that this is the safest way to do the deal. Alternatively he will suggest doing the deal via Square Deal in e-bay - He will send you a spoof Message & Invoice that looks just like it has come from e-bay, but when you send the money - it goes straight into his Bank Account. Mostly he will say he is in Greece, Italy, Spain or France on holiday and he needs the money now. The price you are offered to pay for a New Camera costing 4-5 times as much will look just too good to be true & Believe me - It will be - That's 100% Certain. Beware of Stolen Feedback ID's these he has carefully hi-jacked and are used to sell his imaginary Camera. Never bid in a 3 Day Auction -because everyone knows that the longer you advertise a camera, the more interest it will attract, more people will see it and the more money it will realise at the end of the auction. 3 Day Auctions are bad news. Always ask "Can I collect & Pay Cash" If the answer is no, or he makes an excuse - then the chances are that the seller is running a scam. Many Scammers buy and sell cheap penny goods to build up their ++ feedback, so always look at the items they have bought & sold and if there is nothing of any real value that they have dealt in before then – Beware! Also watch out if the seller gives an alternative e-mail address saying –“don’t reply to my e-bay ad as my mailbox is full up” this means that he is using someone else’s ID & ++ Feedback and he wants you to believe that he has all the credits. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Pixalo Crew
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17,407
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
With the interest rates as they currently stand the buy it now price is about right for a USA version. As you say though, the offers that often look to good to be true usually are, although he does have 100% positive feedback it is only from 14 comments.
If the auction is as good as it appears with 13 hours to go and a current price of £2500 somebody MIGHT get a bargain. I will put money on its price rocketing towards the end though. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 381
![]() |
All that feedback is as a buyer not a seller.
Sounds dodgy to me .... mind you, I aint got £2500 to spend either, lol |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Pixalo Crew
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17,407
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Loves the place
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Silkstone Common, Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,315
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Look at the feedback on this seller, and at the items he has bought. The most expensive item cost $1.25, and most were less than 50 cents. He has obviously been buying the cheapest items he could find in order to get a positive feedback rating.
:evil:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tynemouth
Posts: 298
![]() |
Ebay has removed this item so I think we can safely say it was well dodgy. The old adage always applies: If it seems too good to be true, it is.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Feet under the table
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nairn
Posts: 1,911
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kings hill
Posts: 5,269
![]() |
hmmm thats a funny one, is he allowed to say its $1500 yet auction it?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tynemouth
Posts: 298
![]() |
That's a very good price for a mk I 1Ds - the going rate is more like US$4000. The seller has 100% positive feedback but I think I'd still be wary. If he wants $1500 for it why didn't he just put a "buy it now" tag on?
|
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
The thread "Canon 1Ds Mk2" has not received any replies for 18 months. It has been automatically closed as a result. Please start a new thread on the topic if the information in this thread is not sufficient. |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|