![]() |
|
|||||||
| General photography questions and answers Discuss CS2 on E-Bay...Sorry but how come its OK for E-Bay to sell a product but not Ok for us to talk ... |
|
Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.
|
![]() |
The thread "CS2 on E-Bay" has not received any replies for 18 months. It has been automatically closed as a result. Please start a new thread on the topic if the information in this thread is not sufficient. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() |
CS2 on E-Bay
Sorry but how come its OK for E-Bay to sell a product but not Ok for us to talk about it ???
http://www.thephotographyforums.com/...ead.php?t=5174 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Inverness
Posts: 964
![]() |
I have to agree here, locking a thread because it was discussing piracy is lunacy. By those standards I can't say I think piracy is wrong because it would be thought dubious.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kings hill
Posts: 5,269
![]() |
you can talk about it, but any links or discussion on where to get it will be removed for the simple reason that warez is not allowed on this server, not our rules, the host rules, we have to abide by that!
Sorry if you think locking the other thread was a tad harsh, we do generally get the moderation right here, cant get it right all the time though, anyway, it was marcels fault, i told him to do it ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) | |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Quote:
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
.........come on this is a link to one of the biggest internet sites around, the talk was about E-Bay. Who's decision is it to decide what is legal on E-Bay and what isn't ??? What risk is presented to this web site by talking about or linking to E-Bay ???? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Inverness
Posts: 964
![]() |
That sounds fine, by all means chop out any links to iffy software. Mind you if you take the rule seriously you shouldn't be allowing any links to eBay since they are swamped with the...erm...unmentionable
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 177
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
Probably as much as discussing the items E-Bay have for sale - Legal or not.... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | |
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kings hill
Posts: 5,269
![]() |
Quote:
Read my post again, i did actually say sometimes we make mistakes.... ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
Pixalo Crew
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,909
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) | |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gloucester UK
Posts: 745
![]() |
Quote:
hmm, i sell software on ebay, and its not warez, its a firmware fix to make dvd recorders region free, which isnt illegal or promoting anything illegal , the file is one of my best sellers and peeps are getting a good deal, however, as you stated, it is avaiable from other sources for free, but is it my fault these peeps cant/wont spend hours searching the web for a file that might not exist, but see one up for sale on ebay that does work perfectly,,,, its not a scam , and i'm not shuving it down peeps throats, if peeps dont want it, they can leave it alone.......if it dont sell , its me that has lost money with listing fee's...this is my atitude to anything sold on ebay... MyPix ![]()
__________________
Its not the camera that takes a good pic ;o) But i use a Nikon Last edited by MyPix : 25-01-2006 at 18:07. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) | |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 861
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
I was looking for a copy of 3D Studio Max Bible on there a few years ago, and stumbled across someone selling 3D Studio Max 5, Lightwave 7, and Maya, on one CD for £50. I reported it to eBay - they replied saying there was no evidence that the software was illegal. Other than the fact that each title is produced by three different companies, totals over £6,000 if purchased legally and have never EVER been shipped legally all on the same CD. Go figure... At the end of the day, most people know there's some very dodgy gear on eBay. I think the point is, the moderators and site hosts don't want us advertising that fact and effectively supporting it by rail-roading would-be warezers to eBay, or anywhere else that hasn't yet grasped the concept of 'theft'.
__________________
The camera never lies, but Photoshop does. Last edited by GfK : 25-01-2006 at 18:17. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lost in Surrey
Posts: 132
![]() |
I think I should never have opened up this can of worms
![]() MyPix: very resourceful. If people can't be bothered to find and download this stuff themselves then why shouldn't you provide a service to them There is a difference between this and the illegal s/w that is available on there, that sort of stuff just shouldn't be there.DJW: Agree it shouldn't be on there, Ebay should be doing more to remove these items and perma-banning the sellers. I was lucky enough to pick up a kosher copy of Photoshop 6 for a fraction of the price and was then able to upgrade it to CS. My (albeit naive) thought was that there may well have been a bargain copy of CS2 to be had (maybe an import of some sort) amongst the illegal stuff. Ebay is not what it used to be ![]()
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) | |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 861
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: on the floor
Posts: 694
![]() |
GFK has firmly nailed the lid on this now I think.
Mypix....did you write the firmware that enables region free? If not it's someone elses interlectual property and distribution of it without the owners consent is very much illegal. Much the same as someone selling one of your photos as their own. If you did write it, kewl and i'll stfu ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 922
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry chaps ... but can I be the 'ttt' - thread total thicky ?
Warez ??? |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 (permalink) | |
|
Been here a while
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 328
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
Warez is a generic name for ripped-off software. Don't click on any links for warez sites as they will fill your screen with a never ending supply of pr0n popups. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) | |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 922
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Quote:
And thanx for the hu tip too ! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#18 (permalink) | |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 861
![]() ![]() |
Quote:
![]() |
|
|
|