![]() |
|
|||||||
| Suppliers, Shopping and Bargains Discuss Nexline Shop - Scammers - Beware!...Hi, has anyone seen or used this web site for equipment? Nexline Shop Their price are too good "to ... |
|
Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.
|
|
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
New here
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
![]() ![]() |
Nexline Shop - Scammers - Beware!
Hi, has anyone seen or used this web site for equipment?
Nexline Shop Their price are too good "to be true" ![]() Please, let us know what you think..... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Corfe Mullen, Wimborne, Dorset
Posts: 1,318
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
If it seems too good to be true then it usually is, A Canon 5D for £736 i dont think so!!!!
Just stolen from another forum "whois for nexline.co.uk http://webwhois.nic.uk/cgi-bin/whois...IS+Submit.y=11 Registrant's address: 29 HARLEY STREET London London W1G 9QR GB The site is hosted by DOMAINCONTROL.COM a US company The domail name is Registered to a company called nexline Ltd also at the above address http://www.ukdata.com/creditreports/...anyId=05234908 It has been registered for the past 4 years and have submitted accounts every year All looking very ligit you would think until you look at the address they are registered to http://www.virtual-serviced-offices....ual_office.htm Its a vitural office that you pay £50 per mth for and you get a london phone no ,a pobox and a london address If you ring the number a receptest will answer the phone as nexline but she wouldnt be working for them would be working for this virtual office a search on the post codes for each of there shops around the country shows that they are not located at any of the addresses that they give"
__________________
Stuart Last edited by stupot : 28-04-2008 at 17:40. Reason: added something |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sturminster Newton
Posts: 614
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
this looks awsome but... yes it looks too good. i'm wondering - they have lot's of products on their website, also they have store locator. when i was studying their website i was trying about 30-40 different products and none of them was avaliable for pick up so it looks that their shops are... empty. just go there and try different laptops, cameras (most popular), camcorders, monitors. nothing is avaliable for pick up. if so why do they need 12 stores?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Pixalo Crew
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,892
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
Think I will give them a wide berth !!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mid Cornwall
Posts: 129
![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
D300 body £541
![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Loves the place
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Romsey, Hampshire
Posts: 5,795
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
A bit like the Ebay seller who had a brand new D3 for £1,500 ... I asked him why so cheap, he said "trust me, if you like you can pay me £1000, I'll send the camera, then you can pay the balance of £500"
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 153
![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Getting Comfy
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Thatcham, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 155
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
Without any shadow of a doubt they will be scammers. They state they are a Limited company but I couldn't find their registered number, nor their registered address - both of which are legal requirements.
In addition here are the other things I don't think quite ring true: - no consumables - in fact they don't sell anything for less than about 150 Euro's. No lens cleaners, batteries, memory cards, etc. Clearly reminiscent of trying to scam for the big bucks - The Verified by Visa logo displayed at the bottom of the page does not adhere to Visa's usage guidelines of that mark. For example, it's not in full colour (one of the guideline's stipulations) and it doesn't contain the "Learn More" link which is part of the mark and which should like to a specific page on Visa's web site. Therefore they are using the mark illegally (i.e. they are not genuine) - when going through a mock checkout I noticed that it wouldn't allow credit card or paypal payments - claiming to be "Temporarily Unavailable". The two remaining options were bank transfer and western union - both of which also wouldn't work "for UK customers". My bet is that they call you and try and get you to pay over the phone, or send a cheque, or wire the money. - The Wayback Machine shows no record of the site ever existing which in my book means it's only just been thrown up in the last few days. - They offer a "Collect at the Store" service and we already know these aren't genuine retail outlet locations - They masquerade as a UK store but their FAQ makes statements like "..safer giving your card details here than it is at a restaurant or gas station". No conclusive proof of course, but all adds to the suspicion. In short - steer well clear is my opinion |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
New here
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
After all of this......Is there someone we should tell?????????
After all, if this is a scam....someone should investigate, no? |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Feet under the table
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Silkstone Common, Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,407
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
I couldn't agree more, but the question is who do we tell? It appears that their addresses and other details are false, and they may be based outside the UK.
One thing we could do is change the title of this thread to 'Nexline - Scammers!' and wait for search engines to pick it up. |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Pixalo Crew
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Peak District
Posts: 9,691
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
They must be real, they're "UK’s largest electronics retailer"
![]() Flippin' heck where have I been to miss this lot, I mean they have 30 stores and 3,000 employees! ![]() And being so large I'll forgive them for spelling it "copiright" (bottom left home page) ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Loves the place
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Romsey, Hampshire
Posts: 5,795
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Corfe Mullen, Wimborne, Dorset
Posts: 1,318
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Too Good!!!!
The forum i stole my above post from had a post from someone who apparently is on a legal team thats investigating this trader (or scammer) after they scammed thousands off someone.
|
|
|
|