Pixalo Photography Community  

Go Back   Pixalo Photography Community > Photography Market Place > Suppliers, Shopping and Bargains

Suppliers, Shopping and Bargains Discuss Are Pixmania ok?...Anyone had any issues with them? In my search to find anyone at all who has the Sigma 10-20 and ...

Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


Expired Thread The thread "Are Pixmania ok?" has not received any replies for 18 months. It has been automatically closed as a result. Please start a new thread on the topic if the information in this thread is not sufficient.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-09-2005, 15:16   #1 (permalink)
Forum Regular
 
petemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 548
petemc is an unknown quantity at this point

User's Gallery
Are Pixmania ok?

Anyone had any issues with them? In my search to find anyone at all who has the Sigma 10-20 and a decent returns policy i found them. They seem pretty ok.
petemc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2005, 15:32   #2 (permalink)
dod
Feet under the table
 
dod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nairn
Posts: 1,911
dod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura aboutdod has a spectacular aura about

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
http://www.pricerunner.co.uk/retailer/3612/reviews
dod is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2005, 15:35   #3 (permalink)
Been here a while
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tynemouth
Posts: 298
Adrian is an unknown quantity at this point

User's Gallery
I used them a few times when I couldn't find stuff in the UK. Their site showed the items were in stock but in each case (4 times) once I'd paid I got an email from them telling me they were out of stock, and it took ages for them to refund my card. Their customer services ladies sound good though!

EDIT: I've just seen Pixmania's price £402!! That's over £100 more than some UK suppliers, and £80 more than most.

This site looks promising...

http://www.camerabox.co.uk/productDA...ProductID=1262
__________________
My Photographs

Last edited by Adrian; 13-09-2005 at 15:46.
Adrian is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2005, 17:58   #4 (permalink)
Feet under the table
 
stupot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Corfe Mullen, Wimborne, Dorset
Posts: 1,548
stupot is just really nice
stupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nicestupot is just really nice

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Try this http://www.kelkoo.co.uk/ctl/do/maxiM...eviews~4642023 i have read many similar postings about problems with returns and warranties!!!

Put me of using them.
stupot is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2005, 14:07   #5 (permalink)
Quite Chatty
 
JamPal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sodding Typical, Sussex
Posts: 72
JamPal is on a distinguished roadJamPal is on a distinguished road

User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
I used pixmania for my compact, and when friends wanted one too i searched again and found pixmania to be consistently competitve.

Quick delivery too.

However I have not had to send anything back..
JamPal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2005, 15:33   #6 (permalink)
Forum Regular
 
Steep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Inverness
Posts: 964
Steep is an unknown quantity at this point

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Pete, warehouse express £329.99 and walters photo video £339.99 are both uk based and by all accounts have good returns policies. Even Jessops have it for £369 so I can't see the benefit of buying one for £409 from france.

For myself once the christmas bonus comes in I will be shopping at onestop.

/edit actually Camerabox look good too...

Last edited by Steep; 28-10-2005 at 15:40.
Steep is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2005, 15:41   #7 (permalink)
Forum Regular
 
daveyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,174
daveyuk is a jewel in the rough
daveyuk is a jewel in the rough

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Users Camera Equipment List
Pete,
A mate of mine is having sheds loads of trouble with this lot over a refund, as I type this reply he's on the phone talking to them now and it don't sound at all good so if I were you I'd stear well clear of them if I were you.
daveyuk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2005, 23:09   #8 (permalink)
mal
New here
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 17
mal is an unknown quantity at this point

User's Gallery
ordered a DX7590 off pixmania over the net using my switch card-no problem ,got a confirmation Email saying everything was correct and the camera was being sent next day.............

Then a few minutes later got another Email saying the camera wouldn't be sent until I satisfied their security conditions-they wanted proof of credit card ownership,a driving license or passport and recent utility bills etc and if the delivery address was different to mine(it was) the same proof from whoever was to take delivery.....I told them I didn't have a scanner so how would I send the proof?...

They told me to post all the relevant documents then when they were satisfied they would post them back!!..They expected me to send practically my whole identity(and the person who was going to sign for the delivery) thru the post to be viewed by persons unknown by me but wouldn't send me the camera they had already debitted my bank account for!...F****** nerve!!...

The only good thing I would say about them was, when over the phone I told them to stick the camera where the sun doesn't shine,they put the money straight back in my account(I checked a few minutes later )..

Last edited by mal; 29-10-2005 at 23:35.
mal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 14:23   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kings hill
Posts: 5,269
Matty is an unknown quantity at this point

Image editing O.K.
User's Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal
ordered a DX7590 off pixmania over the net using my switch card-no problem ,got a confirmation Email saying everything was correct and the camera was being sent next day.............

Then a few minutes later got another Email saying the camera wouldn't be sent until I satisfied their security conditions-they wanted proof of credit card ownership,a driving license or passport and recent utility bills etc and if the delivery address was different to mine(it was) the same proof from whoever was to take delivery.....I told them I didn't have a scanner so how would I send the proof?...

They told me to post all the relevant documents then when they were satisfied they would post them back!!..They expected me to send practically my whole identity(and the person who was going to sign for the delivery) thru the post to be viewed by persons unknown by me but wouldn't send me the camera they had already debitted my bank account for!...F****** nerve!!...

The only good thing I would say about them was, when over the phone I told them to stick the camera where the sun doesn't shine,they put the money straight back in my account(I checked a few minutes later )..
good man Mal..firm and decisive action!
Matty is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Expired Thread The thread "Are Pixmania ok?" has not received any replies for 18 months. It has been automatically closed as a result. Please start a new thread on the topic if the information in this thread is not sufficient.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:08.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 2006 - 2008 Pixalo.com

Fuente De | Fast Loans | Per Insurance | Loans | Personal Car Finance

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116