Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Canon Lenses » Canon Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 6646 Thu January 8, 2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers 416.33 9.3
EF_17-40mm_f4L_USM.gif
supersize



Description: The EF17-40mm f/4L USM is a lightweight ultra wide angle Canon EF zoom lens. It is especially well suited for use with digital EOS SLR cameras with a focal length conversion factor higher than 1.

Features

* Superb optical performance throughout the zoom range.
* Fastest AF speed within its class (same as the EF16-35 f/2.8L USM)*
* Highly dust and moisture resistant
* 28cm minimum focusing distance at all focal lengths *as of January 2003
Keywords: Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM


Author
Post A Reply 
Steve
Pixalo Crew

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 18971
Review Date: Thu June 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, fast, silent auto focus, great contrast and colour accuracy. Reliable consistent results. Works equally well with full frame.
Cons: The F4 may not be fast enough for everyone, no image stabilisation

Being mainly interested in landscape photography the 17-40L quickly became my most used lens. When used on a 1.6x crop body such as the 350D/20D/30D it offers an equivalent range of 27-64mm with a possible constant aperture of F4 and works perfectly on full frame as well. This allows for wide vistas to be captured without to much edge distortion. Build quality is what you would expect from a Canon L lens, solid, good quality components (switches etc), smooth fast auto focus and full weather sealing if used with a weather sealed camera body.

Results are accurate colours, great contrast and super fast, silent auto focus to return pin sharp pictures time and again. If you are interested in any subject that would benefit from the wider end of lenses then this lens should not be overlooked.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Steve's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Rob Barron
Loves the place

Registered: September 2006
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 7226
Review Date: Sun September 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 489.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality of build, very low CA, attractive price for an L
Cons: F4 - would prefer F2.8

I bought this as my first foray into the land of L series and it gave me a real problem: how the heck could I then go back to a non-L series? People sometimes ask me if L series is worth the money: silly question, of course it is!

Ok, so this lens is an excellent 'standard zoom' as it takes you through the 50mm length on a DSLR with 1.6x equivalence. It is good for portraits though only when the subject doesn't mind you getting a little closer than normal.

It is not the lens I use for portraiture as I have a 28-70mm l series for that and it has f2.8, which I definitely prefer for portraits.

But this lens comes into its own when I want to do landscapes. Oh sure, if you want extra width, you need to go right down to the 10-22mm if you have a DSLR (I have a 20D and a 40D) but the 17mm end of this lens is plenty wide enough for the majority of landscape shots I take. F4 is not the widest most would like but when doing landscapes, I rarely go down to that sort of aperture anyway as I want more DoF than that affords. It is definitely sharpest at F8/F11 area and that is where I am likely to stick it when wanting fore to aft sharpness.

Focusing is fast and silent and of course FTM is available though not that important for this lens except in low light when struggling to get accurate focus, again not something that is usually an issue with the sort of shots I take with this one.

At the price you can get this, it makes a superb introduction to L series lenses but be warned: once you have used L series, other lenses are going to leave you wanting more!

Cheers,
Rob
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Rob Barron's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
chrisa
Loves the place

Registered: May 2007
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 6201
Review Date: Mon February 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 260.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide angle, handling and image quality
Cons: F4 max wide open, Slight barrell distortion at 17mm

Bought one of these in the summer of 2007. I got it as I needed to replace a 28-200mm Tamron that had expired.

I had use a Canon 35-105mm cheapo kit lens which I bought second hand but was not impressed with the images it was given so took the plunge to venture into L series land when I saw a deal on a returned one on WarehouseExpress.

Was I disapointed...Hell no this lens is the dogs danglies as far as I can tell in comparison to my previous lens. Lovely sharp pics. There is as you would expect some barrel distortion at 17mm on full frame cameras, but it's nothing overt or worrying to me.

Has a gelatine filter holder at rear for built in filters, but I've not tried them yet.

Recommended.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit chrisa's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
The_Camera_Poser
New here

Registered: January 2009
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 30
Review Date: Thu January 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrasty, vivid and accurate colour, fast focussing, built like a tank, internal focus and zoom
Cons: none whatsoever.

I unreservedly recommend this lens. It absolutely kicks butt! The focal length is good on both a full-frame and crop-frame body, it is sharp as a tack right through it's range and from f/4 right up, it's autofocus is fast, accurate and silent, it's image quality is stellar in all aspects, it's built tough.

Yep, I do like this lens. When I need tyhe best iage quality for a landscape, this is the one I go for.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit The_Camera_Poser's homepage! Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:35.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com