Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Sigma Lenses » Sigma Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Sigma 100-300mm f/4 EX DG HSM
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 4904 Sat June 21, 2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £645.00 9.0
Sigma_100-300mm_f4_EX_DG_HSM.jpg



Description: This telephoto zoom lens provides a large F4 aperture at all focal lengths. With minimal light-fall-off, superior peripheral brightness is ensured. It's the ideal lens for digital SLR cameras.

Key Features

* Lens Construction: 16 Elements in 14 Groups
* Angle of View: 24.4 - 8.2 degrees
* Number of Diaphragm Blades: 9 Blades
* Minimum Aperture: F32
* Minimum Focusing Distance: 180cm
* Maximum Magnification 1:5
* Filter Size: 82mm
* Dimensions: Diameter 92.4mm x Length 227mm
* Weight: 1440g
Keywords: Sigma 100-300mm f/4 EX DG HSM lens


Author
Post A Reply 
Sonsey
Retired Crew

Registered: October 2005
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 7483
Review Date: Thu June 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Constant f/4, Sharp, Build quality.
Cons: Size, Weight, 82mm filter.

This really is a top quality lens, especially at the price.

This is a very sharp lens, it also retains this sharpness all through the range when wide open (quite rare for a zoom), the constant f/4 is great for when the light starts to dim, as well as getting a quite narrow depth of field.

This lens is also built like a tank so build quality lives up to the Sigma EX badge, the downside to this is the actual size of the lens... it's BIG, quite long and pretty heavy, I'd advise getting a monopod to help support the weight and help keep things steady when at the long end. Another slight negative is that it takes 82mm filters which can be very expensive.

You get a lot of quality lens for your money here, in fact the only reason I sold it was to get a long Image Stabilization lens as I prefer to hand-hold... Highly Reccommended
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Sonsey's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
daveyuk
Forum Regular

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 1123
Review Date: Wed September 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £645.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: EX build quallity, HSM, very sharp crisp images
Cons: Weight

A top quallity lens, a very sharp and very crisp lens with the inner focus system allowing the lens to stay the same length no matter what your focal length is, also add to this that the end element doesn't rotate allowing you to use a polarizing filter. You can remove the tripod collar giving more lens to hold thus giving you better control while hand holding.

This lens coming from the EX range has Sigma's top quallity glass and HSM for near silent AF. The down side to this is it's a very heavy lens to use so take plenty of breaks to let your arms have a rest or better still attach it to a monopod and you can shoot all day till the cows come home!! The other downside is that 82mm end element as it will cost a few notes buying a polarizer and a skylight filter.

A great lens for wildlife, sports and motorsport photography being that you can use the 1.4x TC with AF at f5.6 also changing it's focal length to 140-420mm, also you can use the 2x TC with this lens but in manual focus only with f8 being your largest appeture with the 2x TC giving you a focal length boost to 200-600mm.

What's in the box.
100-300mm lens.
Large petal shaped lens hood.
Padded lens bag plus waist strap.
Warranty paperwork.

Downsides
A heavy lens to use hand held.
82mm filter size.
No OS (IS)

Upsides
A very useful lens to have in you collection
Inner focus system
HSM AF
EX build quallity
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pentaxbuff
Forum Regular

Registered: October 2007
Location: Québec, Canada in a small town reputed to have the second most beautiful sunsets in the world!
Posts: 715
Review Date: Sat June 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Sharp focus,!! Great light!
Cons: Weight?

I ordered this supposedly great lens after much debating between a Pentax DA*200 f2.8 and also a Pentax DA*300F4.
Since Pentax did not offer a compatible "rear teleconverter" for the DA* lenses (and others as well), and since I did not want to wait until Pentax produced their compatible TC's, I placed an oreder for the Sigma 100-300 APO EX DG (no HSM for Pentax though!! ) but that is OK, I can live with that.
I need a fast, clear and precise telelens for my K10D and that is waht appeals to me most.
It is going to be shipped only during mid July 2008, and I can't wait.
I will make sure to send feedback and samples as soon as it arrives!
Until then, cheers to all.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:00.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com