Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Canon Lenses » Canon Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 6456 Mon December 22, 2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £691.67 9.0
Canon_EF_24-70mm_f2_8L_USM.gif
supersize



Description: The EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM has proven very popular with professional and advanced amateur photographers since it was introduced in 1995. However, the increasing use of digital cameras, most having sensors smaller than a 35mm film frame, has increased the demand for a high-performance standard zoom lens with a wider wide-angle setting. The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM lens meets this need. The optical design is based on the previous lens, but incorporates new design features that allow the broader focal length range while maintaining the superb image quality. At the same time, the minimum focusing distance has been reduced from 0.5 metres to 0.38 metres.
Improved water and dust resistance ensure that it will become the leading standard zoom lens in the EOS system.

Features

* High-speed AF
* Optimized lens coatings
* Highly resistant to dust and water droplets
* Min. focusing distance of 0.38m at all focal lengths
* Front of lens does not rotate during focusing
* Manual focus is possible in AF mode
* Only lead-free glass is used
Keywords: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM


Author
Post A Reply 
morgan
New here

Registered: February 2005
Posts: 11
Review Date: Wed June 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Built like a brick out house. Great range on FF. Great contrast & supersharp (eventually)
Cons: Sent back to CPS twice...now perfect

I use this for weddings. Its a great focal length range. Originally used with my 20D, now on my 5D and its is lovely (slight vignetting wide open with uv filter fitted). colours are spot on, great contrast and sharpness.

This went back to Canon Elstree via CPS twice for the same issue - softness at wide aperatures. Now its back it is just perfect. On my camera 90% of the time. A beauty!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
P-E
Part of the furniture

Registered: August 2005
Location: Sheffield, S.Yorkshire UK
Posts: 12236
Review Date: Wed June 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality piece of glass
Cons: Non so far

Quality piece of glass that has sat on my 1DMKII from day one and is my walk around lens even though it is a big heavy piece of glass.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Steve
Pixalo Crew

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 18980
Review Date: Thu June 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, fast, silent auto focus, great contrast and colour accuracy. Stunning consistent results. F2.8
Cons: Weight, price possibly but otherwise not much.

Another user of this lens for wedding photography, it is widely accepted as ‘the’ lens best suited to this area and many professionals are very happy with the results it returns. It’s a little large and the weight can become a bit tiresome over the period of a long shoot but the results more than make up for that. You can expect accurate colours, great contrast and super fast, silent auto focus to return pin sharp pictures time and again. Superb for portrait photography and the detail this lens manages to retain goes some way to returning a great 3D quality in the photos. F2.8 for low light or nice out of focus backgrounds giving great creamy Bokeh and weather sealing to give you protection from the elements.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Steve's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
M1ke A
Forum Regular

Registered: November 2007
Location: Sussex
Posts: 542
Review Date: Wed May 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: L grade quality. Constant f2.8 which is new for me
Cons: Cost can be high. Large lens hood

I've been using a venerable Canon 28-80 f2.8-f4 L for some years but it is getting rather tired.

I therefore decided to splash some cash to get the 'current' model and am pleased with the 'new' features.

24mm is much handier on cropped bodies and having f2.8 throughout is nice. Weather sealing and full time manual are standard features on this level of lens but are those little things that are appreciated when you need them.

I was very close to choosing the 24-105 IS for the range and IS but thought f2.8 would be more useful in the long run. The bulk and weight aren't an issue as I've been using a similarly sized lens for the past 6 years.

One bug bear though is the fact that the lens extends when at 24mm resulting in a frankly massive lens hood. My old lens had an inner zoom so I don't know why Canon couldn't keep this design?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit M1ke A's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
spxxxx
Forum Regular

Registered: September 2006
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Posts: 729
Review Date: Tue July 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f/2.8 - build quality
Cons: heavy - cost

great lens - the standard for wedding togs

however - to get a good sharp one may need sending to Canon for calibration - worth it though - just wish it had IS.

Worth the money and weight
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit spxxxx's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Steve400
Feet under the table


Registered: September 2005
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1591
Review Date: Mon December 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £625.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image Quality, constant f/2.8
Cons: weight

I was saving up for a replacement for the 18-55mm kit lens. i needed something to cover the gap between the 10-20mm and 70-200mm so this fitted the bill perfectly. I came across a great deal that i couldnt miss and am so glad i went for it.

Apart from the weight of the lens i can find no fault in it at all. Super sharp and also very quick autofocus which helps with upclose motorsport shooting!

Well recommended!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Steve400's homepage! Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:36.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com