Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Canon Lenses » Canon Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 14070 Fri June 12, 2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers 540.00 8.5
Canon_EF_24-105mm_f4_L_IS_USM.jpg



Description: This easy-to-use standard zoom lens can cover a large zoom area ranging from 24mm wide-angle to 105mm portrait-length telephoto, and its Image Stabilizer Technology steadies camera shake up to three stops. Constructed with one Super-UD glass element and three aspherical lenses, this lens minimizes chromatic aberration and distortion. The result is excellent picture quality, even at wide apertures. Canon's ring-type USM gives silent but quick AF, along with full-time manual focus. Moreover, with dust and moisture-resistant construction, this is a durable yet sophisticated lens that meets the demands of advanced amateur photographers and professional photographers alike.

Key Features

* Lens Construction: 18 elements in 13 groups
* Diagonal Angle of View: 84 - 23 20' (with full-frame camera)
* Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with focusing cam
* Closest Focusing Distance: 0.45m
* Zoom System: 5-group helical zoom (front group moves: 32.5mm)
* Filter Size: 77mm
* Max. Diameter x Length: 83.5mm x 107mm
* Weight: 670g

Sample images for this lens can be found in this thread.
Keywords: Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM lens


Author
Post A Reply 
stepheno
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Location: Bingley
Posts: 10668
Review Date: Sun March 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 595.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS, Ring USM, Sharp, Build Quality
Cons: No lock

I've had this lens from new for about four weeks now and it has had a range of use including both in and outdoor.

It is an L lens which shows in its construction and sturdiness providing better protection against moisture and dust. The constant f4 is a delight - some might prefer the constant f2.8 of the 27-70 but I prefer to have the extra 35mm and with the ISO of my 30D I don't have any worries.

The IS is first-class and quiet. The ring USM is very quiet, provides very speedy AF and also full-time manual focus if you require it. The lens is not too heavy although not as light as ny previous Tamron 18-200 but that's a price I'm happy to pay.

I have seen no vignetting or CA but, to be fair, I haven't used it in all conditions yet. I certainly have not experienced any flare and that has been shooting in sunlight. Image quality with my 30D is, I think, outstanding.

It is my constant walkabout lens and is on my camera at all times. Do I miss the extra 95mm the Tamron gave me - no, if I want to zoom in any more I just walk nearer. Are there any negatives I hear you say. Only two points. Firstly the lens does extend when zooming but it is not a problem to me and secondly there is no lock. However the amount of friction is sufficient that it does not creep when carrying it so again not a problem to me.

My final remark is that I regard this as the optimum walkabout lens for my purposes and at current prices will not break the bank, in fact I think it is a decent price for an L lens. I have given it a 10 because, to me, it meets all my expectations. Highly recommended
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit stepheno's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Dave
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 18309
Review Date: Tue July 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 525.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, Focal range, Quiet focus
Cons:

Bought this lens primarily for portrait & wedding work. The focal range is perfect for quickly zooming from full length shots, to shoulder & head.

Build quality is excellent & on par with the Nikon Pro lens I used before.

The quite focusing is another advantage for wedding work, so not to disturb the ceremony

For a walkabout lens I would find the 24mm not quite wide enough, but you have to expect these compromises when you want to maintain optical quality over the focal range it offers.

Recommended
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dave's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
spxxxx
Forum Regular

Registered: September 2006
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Posts: 729
Review Date: Tue July 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light - sharp - good range on full frame
Cons: harsh bokeh - f/4

I got this for wedding work on a 5D and it's a great versatile lens.

My copy is sharp wide open - but do check - a mate had to send his back twice to get one as sharp as mine.

max f/4 can be a problem in dimly lit churches - but IS does go some way to help.

Biggest drawback for me is bokeh - it's quite harsh at times - I got a 24-70 f/2.8 because of this but still kept the 24-105 because I think it's sharper.

Good lens, good value and well built
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit spxxxx's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Dave
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 18309
Review Date: Sun August 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Focal Range
Cons: Flare problem at F4 on 2 lenses now :(

Well since my last review I started to notice something not quite right with image quality at F4. I then ran some tests & found unacceptable flare at F4. See full description of problem here:- http://www.pixalo.com/community/came...-f4-26223.html
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dave's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
The_Camera_Poser
New here

Registered: January 2009
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 30
Review Date: Thu January 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Versatility, image quality, IS, fast focus, sealing, sharp from f/4, good magnification.
Cons: none, other than a bit of flare and a little soft at 105mm.

For a zoom with a bit of range, this baby rocks. I have little tosay that hasn't already been said. The images from my 24-105 aren't quite as sharp or contrasty as those from my 17-40, but the focal length range and IS more than make up for this. If I had to choose one lens out of Canon's line-up, this would be it.

My copy has a bit of flare, but nothing at all like Dave's. It's a 2006 model.

The bokeh could be better at f/4, but then it's not the sort of lens I use for great bokeh. Also, it's a wee bit soft and still highly useable at 105mm, though I do wonder if this is more aa function of the lens being used at it's longest focal length and the IS not quite being as steady as it is at 24mm.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit The_Camera_Poser's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Rob Barron
Loves the place

Registered: September 2006
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 7227
Review Date: Fri June 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, excellent IS, smooth bokeh, L quality
Cons: nothing

I would like to clarify that the price I paid is slightly irrelevant as it was bought with the 5D MkII making it about half the normal price. Currently most places selling for a street price around 900.

I contemplated whether to buy this lens with the camera body for quite a while because I had the 28-70mm f/2.8 L series lens and wasn't sure I needed this one. In the end I went for it because despite losing one stop in the aperture, I would easily gain that back in the image stabilisation and the extra focal range is useful now that I don't have a 1.6x factor to apply. The range here is good because comparing my older lens with the equivalence factor applied, I was going from a 45 - 112mm to a 24mm - 105mm, almost the same at long end but far better at the wide end.

I also have the 17-40mm f/4 L and so am used to working to f4 and between the two I had all I needed for super-wide through to most everyday situations.

Ok, so how does the lens come out in terms of quality etc? Quite simply, the answer is excellent. I was cautious because of Dave's experience with the f4 - f4.5 problem but this is definitely not a problem now. I have tried to replicate the problem several times and I just can't so I guess Canon have sorted that out now.

I did wonder whether the loss of a stop of aperture would affect my ability to get a lot of blurring with differential focusing but that is not an issue at all. It might be for someone using this on an APS-C sensor (though is just as good as the 17-40 of course) but on a full-framme sensor, you get shallower depth of field anyway so I still gete far better blurring (bokeh) than I have ever done before. Indeed, I can happily isolate a subject from its background at a smaller aperture as seen in this shot which was taken at f/8:



At wider apertures it is beautiful creamy and the main subject stands out perfectly.

The IS is excellent and I would say is better than the 3-stops quoted in Canon's tech specs. To give you some idea, I took a shot at a silly speed just to sow how well it would perform. Now this wouldn't win any prizes but given that this was taken hand-held with a shutter speed of 1/2 a second, I think you'll agree it's not at all bad!



Here is a 100% pixel view: I focused on the end of his nose so this isn't the sharpest area of the shot but note the hairs/fluff sticking up in front of the eye as that shows the point fairly well:



I wouldn't of course normally dream of taking a photo hand-held at that sort of speed but if it can perform that well at 1/2 second, I'd have no worries at all about using it for a 1/15th second shot if I had to.

The Autofocus is very positive, fast and quiet and the zoom ring, despite not having a lock, doesn't drift at all when holding the camera lens down. It is smooth and stays in focus well from wide to telephoto.

I now have three lenses covering the range from 17mm to 400mm all in l series so when combined with my macro lens and the ubiquitous nifty fifty, I think my lens needs are pretty much covered.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the 24-105mm lens to anyone looking for the perfect lens to use as their standard walkabout lens.

Cheers,
Rob
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Rob Barron's homepage! Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:18.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright 2006 - 2017 Pixalo.com