Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Photographic Accessories » Printers, Scanners, Graphic Tablets & Media Storage « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Wacom Volito 2
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 7454 Sun April 1, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £23.49 8.8
volito2.jpg



Description: Whether it’s invitations, birthday cards or creative holiday photos — you can now add your personal touch on the PC. With Volito2, the market leader Wacom provides you with the proven and patented technology you need.

Features
· Pressure Sensitivity
· Absolute positioning
· Cord-/battery-less
· Plug and Play
· Tutorial

Specifications
· Active area: 127.6 x 92.8 mm
· Dimensions (W x D x H): 200.6 x 205.2 x 12.9 mm
· Cable length: 1.5 m
· Resolution: 1016 dpi; 40 l/mm
· Pressure levels (pen): 512
· Interface: USB

Package Contents
· Tablet
· Pen
· Electronical manual on CD
· CD-ROM including interactive manual, pen tablet driver, painting software "ArtRage® Wacom Edition"
· Voucher for the Bonus Software Programme

Requirements
· Windows® 98 SE, ME, 2000 or XP
· Pentium 200 or higher
· 64 MB RAM
· 24 bit colour display
· USB port
· CD-ROM drive
· Internet access for the Bonus Software Programme
Keywords: Wacom Graphics Tablet Volito Pen


Author
Post A Reply 
stepheno
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Location: Bingley
Posts: 10397
Review Date: Fri August 4, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, compact, easy set-up, easy to operate
Cons: Not for pro work, only A6

I got this tablet free with some software. I would not have thought of buying one but I'm glad I've got one. This tablet is probably the baby of the range but is very suitable for home PCs. It sits at the side of the desk taking up very little space.

I don't use it consistently and it is no substitute for your mouse. However, it does give welcome relief if you get wrist RSI and you can use it for all navigation and actions on your PC. I use it mainly in Photoshop and other editing software as it is excellent for "fine-line" work on masking, erasing etc, especially on a magnified image.

The pressure nib takes some getting used to as that's what controls the thickness of the brush, pen. All in all I regard it as a very good tool for the price and certainly good value for money.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit stepheno's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Sonsey
Retired Crew

Registered: October 2005
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 7483
Review Date: Tue December 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £27.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, build quality.
Cons: No frills

I'd been thinking of getting a graphics tablet to help with the more detailed work in Photoshop for a while but didn't really want to spend too much on something that would get limited use. I'd heard that the build quality of various other manufacturer's tablets wasn't the best so I decided to go for the baby Wacom Volito2 which was pretty cheap at Amazon.

As this is the "baby" of the range there isn't much in the way of extra frills, there are no function buttons on the tablet itself like there are on model's further up the range for example, but it does all the main thing's a graphics tablet should very well.

I was a bit worried that the working area would be too small but this was quickly proved wrong with use, the pen is also comfortable to hold and has 2 extra assignable function buttons on it. The tablet itself is made of a hard plastic giving it a sturdy, and (slightly surprising for the price) a decent quality feel to it, and most importantly it is more than sensitive and accurate enough for me when used with Photoshop.

Not many extra frills, but for the money it does the job well
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Sonsey's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Joseph McGarraghy
Been here a while


Registered: November 2006
Location: North of Manchester, England
Posts: 389
Review Date: Wed January 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: An alternative to the mouse for heavy editing sessions.
Cons: I found the mouse easier for some fine editing.

I see this is being offered by Serif at a reduced price, at the moment, and thought there may be members who would be interested.

I obtained mine as part of a deal when I phoned Serif to order some of their products, that was April last year, and I do not have a specific price to quote.

I have not given justice to this tool because of my way of working but I am pleased to have it along side.

This offer price is £24.99

https://www.serif.com/drawplus/drawp...hicstablet.asp
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Joseph McGarraghy's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Charlotte
Growing roots

Registered: December 2006
Location: Romsey, Hampshire
Posts: 8392
Review Date: Sun April 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £19.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact. Cordless, batt-free pen + grip. A+ tutorial.
Cons: No spare nibs.

I already had a graphics pad + pen when I got this one. I found the A4 size of my existing one a bit much for my needs, so when I received a half-price offer from Serif for their A6 set, I went for it. I was pleasantly surprised, on receipt, to find it was a Wacom product - the Volito2.

Setting up was a doddle and, being unused to graphics tablets, I followed the interactive tutorial, which I found most helpful to get me started.

I immediately liked the pen: Being cordless + battery-free it is extremely lightweight; it has a rubber grip so your fingers won't slip down the pen; and lastly, the two function buttons are not in the way, like I found they were with my other set (too far down so that you sometimes press the lower one by mistake). I find the pen very comfortable + easy to use.

It comes with ArtRage (free edition) which is a fab painting programme.

Only thing I think is missing from this package is a couple of spare nibs, like I got with my other set, but hopefully I won't need to change the nib for a good long while!

What more can I say, except if you need one, get it!

************************************************** ***************************

28.9.07 Edit:

Since I got my laptop, I have used this graphic tablet/pen endlessly. It's now permanently attached to my laptop, and I use it for all navigating, as it's MUCH quicker to use than the laptop's own touchpad. Doing so has also given me the practice in using the pen for other purposes, which I'd found awkward in the beginning, e.g. selecting + editing. Have to say that since I hooked it up to my laptop, I now find it indispensable.

It's also extremely handy for using with Vista's 'Journal' programme, which is a notes prog where you can enter handwritten notes. You can keep these in the handwriting format, or do pen drawings, or you can convert it to text. There are other prog's in which you can enter handwritten data as well, like Microsoft's OneNote, which is FABULOUS + is the only note-keeping prog you'll ever need. Again, you can use the tablet/pen to enter data, and the Volito2 is great to use for all of these tasks!

It's so good, in fact, + I have found so many uses for the Volito2, that I've upgraded my rating from 9 to 10
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:33.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com