Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Nikon Lenses » Nikon Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR Zoom-Nikkor
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 14560 Sun June 8, 2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £306.20 9.4
xAak5ZOZKdAPxCeh_ysdFS5KEG3pR.jpg



Description: The AF-S VR 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED is a high-performance super telephoto zoom lens that has been designed to meet the demands of both digital and 35mm format SLR users. It offers a 4.3x zoom with a range of 70-300mm (105-450mm on a DX Nikon D-SLR) and features ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass elements that ensure superior optical performance. This lens incorporates Nikonís second-generation vibration reduction system (VR II) that allows flexible hand-held shooting by stabilizing the image to the equivalent extent of using a shutter speed that is four stops faster when compared with a conventional lens (as determined by Nikon performance test). The SWM (Silent Wave Motor) and IF (Internal Focusing) ensure fast and quiet focusing action, and the nine-blade rounded diaphragm makes out-of-focus elements blend smoothly to produce natural-looking, harmonious backgrounds.



* 4.3x high-power zoom with a range of 70-300mm. Equivalent to 105-450mm when used with a DX format D-SLR camera.
* SWM (Silent Wave Motor) enables quiet automatic focusing with quick and convenient switching between autofocus and manual operation.
* IF (Internal Focusing) design for fixed lens length and non-rotating front element allows the use of circular polarizing filters and lens-mounted flash accessories.
* VR II offers the equivalent stability of a shutter speed that is 4 stops faster (as determined by Nikon performance test). Normal Mode counters hand-held vibration and Active Mode reduces mechanically-induced vibrations.
* 2 ED glass elements minimize chromatic aberration across the entire zoom range while ensuring high resolution and contrast.
* Focus options - Automatic with manual override and Manual only.
* 9-blade rounded diaphragm makes out-of-focus elements blend together smoothly for natural-looking backgrounds.
* 67mm diameter filter attachment size (non-rotating).

SPECIFICATIONS

Lens Construction: Elements / Groups: 17/12 (with 2 ED glass elements)

Maximum reproduction ratio: 0.25

Number of diaphragm blades: 9 (rounded)

Focal length: 70-300mm (105-450mm when used with Nikon DX format)

Picture angle: 34-8 degrees (22-5 degrees when used with Nikon DX format D-SLR cameras)

Maximum aperture: f/4.5-5.6

Minimum aperture: f/32-40

Focus method: Ring SWM

Filter Attachment Size [mm]: 67

Dimensions: Dia x Length (extension from lens mount), [mm]: Approx. 80 x 143.5 (3.1 x 5.6 in.)

Weight [g]: 745
Keywords: Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor


Author
Post A Reply 
skin_2
New here

Registered: March 2007
Location: Oxford
Posts: 8
Review Date: Tue April 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £379.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good sharp images, VR works very well
Cons: not a very fast lens, but yoh have to pay a lot more for a couple of stops faster

I bought this lens to go with my D80 to extend the focal length from the 18-135mm kit lens that came with the camera. The 70-300mm VR lens is well made, with a proper metal lens mount. It's not a DX lens, so it has the coverage for use on a film camera or one with a full size sensor. The camera feels well balanced with the lens fitted and so is easy to hold reasonably steady. I used it at the Orchid Festival at Kew earlier this year and even at its maximum focal length, I was easily able to get pin sharp shots inside the Princess of Wales conservatory, so the VR does work well. I found it slightly disconcerting to use as while holding the camera I could feel the VR 'clunking' about as it was stabilising the image, but once I'd got used to that it was fine.

I'd recommend it as being good value for money, the only downside being the speed of the lens but you have to pay a lot more for a faster one.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
RichB
Quite Chatty

Registered: August 2006
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 76
Review Date: Sun April 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £332.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp pictures even at max zoom, with the VR.
Cons: struggling to think of any, for the money paid.

Had this lens for a couple of months now, and all results are incredible compared with another 2 lenses I tried, even given that they were only about a third the retail price of this one, it does go to show that you get what you pay for.
The other lenses were the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO Macro DG http://www.pixalo.com/reviews/showpr...uct/133/cat/14
which was a lot better than the Nikon AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 G http://www.pixalo.com/reviews/showpr...duct/152/cat/9

The VR negates the lack of a fast aperture, for my usage, given the focal length range of the lens; and don't forget it more likely to be used at the longer focal lengths, else you wouldn't have taken the kit lens off, would you?!!

Construction is very good, only niggle I suppose I could mention that has caught me out, is that there are 3 switches on the lens, for the VR and autofocus and I managed to move the one putting it out of auto focus mode ; then spent a minute trying to figure out why it wouldn't focus. Ok, so I'm also relatively new still to the D80, and all its functions ; and yes, I'll own up to still having to refer back to the camera manual frequently!!

The Sigma has macro mode, but as noted elsewhere, it only works between focal lengths of 200 and 300 mm, still a useful function not found on the Nikon; but then you can't have everything at this price!

Anyway, back to this lens, solidly built, the expected Nikon quality in terms of smoothness and lens definition, metal mount, and with the VR function will probably be the only long focal lens you'll need, unless you're into seriously long distance photographs involving extreme focal lengths, oh, and a sturdy tripod . Lens also exhibits good bokeh, and comes with bag, and hood.

Got mine from the cameras2u website, not one of their stock items, or wasn't when I ordered it; but even so, delivered within the 10 working days stated; worth the wait for a lens that is so new, and was surprisingly discounted.

Highly recommended.

Now the April round of the monthly competition is over, I can reveal that this is an example of the picture quality achievable with the lens (no post processing apart from cropping the right hand edge): http://www.pixalo.com/gallery/data/822/reach.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
VinnyP
Forum Regular

Registered: February 2006
Location: Surbiton Surrey
Posts: 1147
Review Date: Tue March 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £260.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp especially up to 200mm Excellent VR
Cons: Image quality falls off slightly at the longest end. No tripod mount

This lens impressed me far more than I expected. I originally I bought the 18-200 VR to leave in the car on a D200 and was left wanting, this with a Tamron 17-50 makes a really good and pretty lightweight 2 lens set.

It's never going to replace a 70-200 2.8 or 300 2.8 but it isn't designed to and is a real bargain. Optically it is really very good especially up to 200mm even wide open, above that out to 300 it softens up noticably but it's still pretty good and remains ahead of the 18-200 at pretty much any focal length. At 300mm it helps a lot to stop it down a stop or 2 but at 300mm that's the last thing you are going to want to do. Luckily the VR does a pretty good job, of course VR doesn't help with moving subjects.

The other optical qualities are also very good, CA is not really an issue and easily controlled. I like the contrast and the distortion is never too much of an issue but it does go in a funny cycle barrel to pincushion to almost none at 300mm. I haven't seen any flare but probably haven't tried it in any sitiuations where it might be an issue. For a bargain lens the Bokeh is not bad at all.

Whilst not a pro lens it is pretty well made, has a nice heft and is well balanced on the D200. Handling is good and focusing from the AF-S is responsive but obviously when at 5.6 it can hunt slightly but nothing to cause any concern.

In conclusion if you have a Nikon Camera and the lens meets your focal length needs and suits your budget then it can't be beat. Even if you have more expensive glass in this focal length the portability of this might still make it attractive.

I just thought I would add a couple of observations now I have had this a bit longer. It is now my travel tele-zoom of choice it really dis a great compromise of performance to bulk and weight. In good light you can get results close to the 70-200 and it is far more convenient. Yes there were several occasions where teh maximum aperture was a hinderance but I will put up with that to travel light when not on a photographic trip yet still have some reach.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dutchie
Feet under the table


Registered: October 2006
Location: Antwerpen - BE
Posts: 1984
Review Date: Wed April 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £280.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VR is excellent. Nice clear pictures when at 300mm
Cons: Could be heavy in the hand

I've had this lens for a year now and it has been good to me. I am an amateur who gets the odd chance to go out and shoot some nice pictures.

I'm very satisfied with the quality of the photo's. The vr is doing a good job, as my hand is not stable at times. Especially at 300mm I think the quality is fab. But I don't have much experience with other lenses. This lens is my best lens uptill now.

The only but for me is that it is heavy. And when you have to run after your kids, it can be heavy around the neck. I then prefer my allround lens which is going to be the 18-200mm this week

02- 11-09 Ok this is after me selling the lens. I regret it I must say. For the money this was a very good lens. I've had it a few times that I've been dissapointed with the 18-200 due to softness when going to the 200mm. With the 70-300 you do get it as well, but not as much. The 70-300 isn't always as fast with AF and so no good for sports or fast moving subjects, and I've noticed the hunting as well, but that doesn't happen that often. The bokeh is fab.

I would highly recommend this lens to anyone. For the money it really is an excellent lens. And once I get myself a backup DX body, I most probably buy this lens again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dave
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 18309
Review Date: Sun June 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £280.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great value for money, VR, Good bokeh, well made
Cons: Nothing at the price point

After getting frustrated at lack of extra reach from Sigma 70-200 f/2.8, I sold it. I then went 6 months with nothing greater than 55mm focal length

I had always hankered after the Nikon 80-400mm VR lens, but was put off by reports of slow AF , plus the inevitable "is a MKII lens on the way"

Anyway as an interim I decided to give the Nikon 70-300 VR lens a go. I wasn't expecting much at the price, but I have to say I am very impressed with the lens. Well built, the VR works well, focuses relatively quickly & quietly & today I even found how good the bokeh is

Example shots taken with Nikon 70-300 VR Lens
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dave's homepage! Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:49.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2017 Pixalo.com