Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Sigma Lenses » Sigma Zoom Lens Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 80183 Fri February 6, 2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers £293.62 9.0
Sigma_10-20mm_f4-5_6_EX_DC_HSM.jpg



Description: The super wide-angle capability of the 10-20mm zoom makes it a very powerful tool for both indoor and landscape photography. It is specifically designed to optimise results with digital SLR cameras encorporating APS-C size image sensors or smaller

Key Features

* Covers a superwide angle of view 102.4° to 63.8°
* Three pieces of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) elements and three aspherical lens elements produce top quality optical performance
* Inner focusing system ensures the length of the lens remains unchanged whilst controlling aberrations
* Equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) system
* Minimum focusing distance of 24cm at all focal lengths
* Compact and lightweight for an ultra wide-angle zoom lens
* Dimensions: Diameter 83.5mm x Length 81mm
Keywords: Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM lens


Author
Post A Reply 
Dave
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 18315
Review Date: Tue June 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £330.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very Wide Angle, well made & produces super sharp Shots
Cons: Some distortion of image at edges at 10mm, but can be corrected easily in Photo Shop

I spent a considerable amount of time crawling the web for reviews on Wide Angle lenses. In the end I chose the Sigma. Main reasons are listed in this thread on the very subject :- http://www.pixalo.com/community/came...ens-11217.html

Example shots I have taken with the Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM lens here :- 40
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dave's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Warspite
Feet under the table


Registered: September 2005
Location: Newcastle Sunderland Middlesbrough (UK)
Posts: 1735
Review Date: Thu June 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £271.34 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very wide with quick focus and nice build quality. Price
Cons: Bit soft on the edges but this is to be expected. 77mm filter.

Like Dave, spent alot of time weighing up the alternatives, those being the Canon EF-S 10-22, Sigma 12-24, Tokina 12-24. Basically I was after ultra-wide so the 12+ lenses were disgarded, and I had heard that Canons offering was not really worth the extra cost.

Always read good reviews regarding the Sigma and so far not dissapointed, its very sharp in the centre and gets a little softer on the edges, and gives good contrast.
Build quality it good - feels solid and has weight which gives it balance, also. Its quick to focus and is quiet in use.
Price is a bargain if you get a good sample.

Comes supplied with lens case and a lens hood.

Shame it takes such a large filter size, at 77mm it could be expensive to accessorize.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
evilowl
Been here a while


Registered: September 2005
Location: Marlborough
Posts: 377
Review Date: Thu June 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £330.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wide
Cons: A little soft at the edges

W I D E !

A lot wider than my Sigma 12-24 but not as sharp at the edges of the frame, could possibly be my sample but I'll be keeping it anyway.

Not really had much chance to play with it yet, am looking forward to getting intimate with it shortly. Will be mainly using it for architecture and urban shots in London - you often cannot get far enough away from subjects to get the angle you want so it will come into it's own.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit evilowl's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
daveyuk
Forum Regular

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 1123
Review Date: Wed September 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £305.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very very wide view
Cons: None that I can think of.

I bought this lens mainly for seascapes as I'm lucky enough to be able to see the coast line of Lowestoft almost anytime of the year and as the beach is ever on going expance of sand I thought this lens would be just the job and I'm very pleased to say it does all that I ask of it and more. As I found out with a few shots of some cloudy skies as this lens also gives a slight curving at 10mm which in some cases can add a little something extra to your image.

With Sigma's top notch EX glass and HSM giving near silent AF makes this a very pleasent peace of kit to use. I have also found that this lens can give that extra little something to motorsport photography in as much hairpin corners make for very good areas to use this lens as you may be able to get the whole of the corner in the one shot at 10mm and with that slight curving adding something extra.

What's in the box.
10-20mm lens.
Petal shaped lens hood.
Padded lens bag.
warranty paper work.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Sonsey
Retired Crew

Registered: October 2005
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 7483
Review Date: Tue December 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £270.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice and WIDE.
Cons: A touch soft at the edges.

I've had this lens for several months now and I've continued to be impressed with it. Build quality is good with the lens having good weight and handling along with a smooth movement to the controls.

The all important picture quality is also good, with colour, saturation and general sharpness all being up to the standard of a lens of this price. Only a slight softness at the very edges of the frame lets the side down a little, however reviews of it's competitors have also said the same thing.

If your in the market for a wide angle lens for your 1.5x/1.6x crop factor DSLR then this lens must be on the shortlist, especially for the price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Sonsey's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Dave
Pixalo Crew

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 18315
Review Date: Mon May 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Update: This is now officially my favourite lens Want to see why, then look at these shots to wet your taste spuds

http://www.pixalo.com/community/phot...ens-14565.html
http://www.pixalo.com/community/phot...ens-14569.html
http://www.pixalo.com/community/phot...ich-14572.html
http://www.pixalo.com/community/phot...ium-14571.html

PLus a few more here (click on thumbnail for larger shot) :-

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Dave's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Pentaxbuff
Forum Regular

Registered: October 2007
Location: Québec, Canada in a small town reputed to have the second most beautiful sunsets in the world!
Posts: 715
Review Date: Tue July 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightness; clarity; ease of use.
Cons: Not HSM for Pentax but ... great!

Not HSM, for Pentax that is, but I just love the superb clarity of that lens.
Quiet, nevertheless.
It is very light and the results have been sepctacular (for me).
I was somewhat undecided at the beginning as to whether this would be a good addition to my equipment but now, I am truly pleased.
JP
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Steve400
Feet under the table


Registered: September 2005
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 1586
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £260.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Width
Cons: Lens Cap (Very minor con)

I absolutely love this lens.

I had not taken many landscape shots before I decided to go for the Sigma 10-20 over the Canon 10-22. Since I got the lens I have loved shooting landscapes. Knowing that you have the lens in your kit bag makes you want to get out and use it more and more.

The only minor flaw that i've found is getting the lens cap on and off when the lens hood is attached. That's just me being picky but it can be awkward especially when a filter is not attached.

I would recommend this to everyone!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Steve400's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Dutchie
Feet under the table


Registered: October 2006
Location: Antwerpen - BE
Posts: 1984
Review Date: Fri February 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: £289.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The quality of the pictures is great, lightweight
Cons: none that I can think of

The first thing I'd noticed when using it for the first time is the quality of the pictures. Pinsharp and beautifull colours.

I haven't used this lens all that much as yet, cause of limited time to get out to do landscapes. But the reviews are very good about this lens. And I can only agree with it.

I'm looking forward to use it a lot more when weather is nicer again. For landscape this lens is a must have. The price is really not that bad and the super wide angle is just great. Definitely recommended Again I bought this lens s/h. New price around that time was about £289.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com