Pixalo Photography Community


Welcome to the Pixalo Photography Community. As a Guest you are free to browse the site, but see what extras you get as a Member here.


  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  


Home » Digital Cameras » Canon Digital SLR Reviews « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Canon 5D
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 8711 Tue March 13, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers 1,849.50 10.0
Canon-EOS-5D_gif.jpg



Description: The full frame 12.8 Megapixel EOS 5D. Discreet enough to avoid attention, with resolution enough to keep the toughest picture editors happy. Travel light without compromise.

Features

* 12.8 MP full frame CMOS sensor
* 3 fps 60 JPEG image burst
* 9-point AF with 6 Assist AF points
* 2.5" LCD
* Picture Style image processing
* DIGIC II
* Records RAW/JPEG images
* Digital Photo Professional software
* Compact magnesium alloy body
* Connectivity options
Keywords: Canon DSLR Digital EOS 5D Full Frame


Author
Post A Reply 
morgan
New here

Registered: February 2005
Posts: 11
Review Date: Wed June 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image, Build, handling
Cons: Price? Possibly.

This is a fantastic camera. Feels great, looks great, easy to use and produces great shots (operator permitting!)

I've handled 1Ds MKII's, N's, had a 20D, 300D, 10D etc. This is the best handling, rewarding camera I've ever used. Ok so the MKII is a better camera for sports, motorsports etc, but the 5D is such a lovely camera to use. I prefer it to the MKII for ease of handling and speed of use.

Nice 'thwack' when pressing the shutter, great feeling, big LCD.

***** stars to Canon. Lovely Jubberly
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cotter
Forum Regular


Registered: October 2006
Location: Lauder, Scottish Borders
Posts: 610
Review Date: Wed November 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Feels good, easy to handle, good quality
Cons: None so far

Have been using this camera since May 06.
I have found it very easy to control and use. Simple to change settings quickly for different types of shot. I've not done any fast action or sports work with it so not sure if only 3fps will let it down. (should'nt think so) I take mainly landscapes / people shots and some of the detail is superb. Done a few weddings and had the photos made into photo books. Details, skin tones and general colour has been spot on.

Had some large prints A3+ made from PART of a frame and the quality and detail is jaw dropping stuff. The full frame sensor make a big difference.

Not tried any Prime or L series lenses to date, although I am told this will further improve the quality (if thats possible).

Well worth the money. I'm glad I took so long to make my mind up with "which camera to buy" this gave me enough time to save the money for the 5d.

As the price keeps dropping...it's a must have.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
marksuckling`
New here

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 10
Review Date: Wed March 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have had a 5d since it was first released. Never been let down by this camera once.
Thanks to the full frame sensor i actuall get my focal lengths back.
This camera forced me to invest in L series glass simply because it deserves the best.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
spxxxx
Forum Regular

Registered: September 2006
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Posts: 729
Review Date: Tue March 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: 1,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full Frame - Great High ISO
Cons: None

After 20+ years of Nikon ownership and it was time to change.

Canon are just way ahead in sensor development and the only FF 35mm digital body producers that are within most peoples price range.

Coming from a D1X and top quality Nikon glass I was still amazed at the noise free usable images at ISO 1600 - well worth the change in itself.

The Full Frame sensor makes my lenses perform as they should with regard to DOF and it is great.

I only shoot RAW so can't comment on the in camera Jpeg settings - using ACR to convert the images is straight forward and produces 16 bit files at 70+ Mb files which are accepted by all the stock agencies and provide enough detail for very large prints.

Camera controls are not perhaps as intuitive as Nikon but are near enough so as to make the change as near painless as possible.

I have the optional grip with the body and besides allowing two batteries to be used brings the size to that with which I have been accustomed - it also allows the use of AA batteries for those emergency situations

LCD is large and clear and provides all the information req from the histogram.

Mirror lockup is still accessed from the menu system but I have read reorts that a Custom Function can be set so that the mirror can be raised and a delayed timeed exposure taken in one step - will have to pursue this.

Remember - you need good glass as this body will expose any weakness in this area - so budget accordingly.

All in all an excellent studio / portrait and occasional action body - wish I had got one when they came out

Price paid included the 24-105 f/4 IS USM lens
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit spxxxx's homepage! Find more posts by this user  



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32.


vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ReviewPost & PhotoPost vB3 Enhanced, Copyright 2003-2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Copyright 2006 - 2014 Pixalo.com